The End of the Beginning

A “Resonance” Concert. Symphony musicians explore music from the end of the 20th Century, which is sometimes puzzling, often beautiful and always intriguing. Composers include Astor Piazzolla, Kaia Saariaho, John Cage,  Gilles Tremblay and others.

Karin Aurell, flutes
Andrew Reed Miller, contrabass and electronics
Joël Cormier, percussion

September 12, 2019, 7:30pm
Fredericton: McCain Hall, STU

September 14, 2019, 7:30pm
Moncton: U de M Salle Neil-Michaud

September 15, 2019, 2pm
Saint John: Saint John Arts Centre

Program Notes

The End of the Beginning

This exceptional concert demonstrates the sumptuous sounds of the instruments in some remarkable combinations and permutations.
There is dance and drama; seas and stars. These three musicians work magic to transport the audience out into a boundless universe of sounds and textures. Just the beginning until it’s the end.

Miramichi (2000) WL Altman (1959 – )

Histoire du Tango (1986) Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992) arrangement Andrew Reed Miller
Cafe 1930
Nightclub 1960

Toward the Sea (1981) Toru Takemitsu (1930-1996 )
The Night
Moby Dick
Cape Cod

Ciel étoilé (1999) Kaija Saariaho (1952 – )
Aubes ou Initial (1990) Gilles Tremblay (1932-2017)