Symphony New Brunswick consists of professional musicians, with a limited number of auditioned apprentice positions.

There are 40 members under a CBA between the NB local of the Canadian Federation of Musicians ( aka AFM) and SNB.

The average concert also uses from 5 to 15 extra musicians who are, as much as possible, drawn from within the province. A few musicians join the orchestra with regularity from PEI and Nova Scotia.

The Forty contracted Members of the Orchestra as defined in the 2015-2018 Collective Agreement between Local 815 and Symphony New Brunswick:

Core Members

Concertmaster: David Adams

Principal Second Violin: Danielle Sametz
Miles and Eunice Kierstead Memorial Chair

Principal Viola: Christopher Buckley
The Margaret and Wallace McCain Family Chair

Principal Cello: Sonja Adams
BMO Financial Group Endowed Chair

Acting Principal Oboe: Christie Goodwin

Principal Bassoon: Patrick Bolduc

Principal Bass: Andrew Reed Miller


Per-Service Members

Section Violin I (5 positions)

  1. Ali Leonard
  2. Robert McCausland
  3. Hrvoje Tisler
  4. Aaron McFarlane
  5. Nadia Francavilla

Section Violin II (4 positions)

  1. Christine Chase
  2. Sara Liptay
  3. Aida Tisler
  4. Katherine Moller

Section Viola (3 positions)

1. Eric Ring
2. Robin Streb
Reid and Jacqueline Parker Endowed Chair
3. (Acting) Jeffery Bazett-Jones

Section Cello (3 positions)

  1. Ellen Buckley
  2. Katharine Bestvater
  3. John Buckley

Principal Double Bass

Core Position

Section Double Bass (1 position)


Principal FluteSally Wright

Second Flute: Helen Gollings

Second Oboe: Vacant

Principal Clarinet: Vacant

Second Clarinet: Jennifer Shea

Second Bassoon: Yvonne Kershaw

Principal Horn: Ulises Aragon

Second Horn:  (Acting): Jonathan Fisher

Third Horn: Vacant

Fourth Horn: Vacant

Principal Trumpet: Rob Dutton
Wallace, Norma and John MacMurray Memorial Chair

Second Trumpet: Vacant

Principal Trombone: Vacant

Second Trombone: Ernest Brown

Bass Trombone: Richard Kidd

Acting Principal Timpani: Joël Cormier
Philip W. Oland Memorial Chair

Principal Percussion: George Garrett


Regular Extras:

Kate Clarke, trumpet

Jonathan Fisher, horn

Danielle Girard, violin

James Kalyn, clarinet